top of page

Alfonso Maiorana - Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked The World

June 16, 2017

At the Biografilm Festival we met Alfonso Maiorana, director of "Rumble: the Indians Who Rocked the World". This documentary is a journey into the influence that Native American culture and music had onto modern music: blues, jazz, folk, rock. The title Rumble is inspired by the famous instrumental music by Link Wray which represented a real turning point for music from the latest 1950s and beyond. 
Rumble: the Indians Who Rocked the World has won so far several prices including the World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Masterful Storytelling at the Sundance Film Festival, the Rogers Audience Award for Best Canadian Documentary at the HotDocs Film Festival and the Audience Award Biografilm Music at the Biografilm Festival. 
"Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World is a feature documentary about the role of Native Americans in popular music history.
RUMBLE will tell the story of a profound, essential, and, until now, missing chapter in the history of American music: the Indigenous influence. Featuring music icons Charley Patton, Mildred Bailey, Link Wray, Jimi Hendrix, Jesse Ed Davis, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Robbie Robertson, Randy Castillo, and others, RUMBLE will show how these talented Native musicians helped shape the soundtracks of our lives.
 RUMBLE is inspired by the Smithsonian Institution exhibit “Up Where We Belong: Native Musicians In Popular Culture,” created by Tim Johnson and Stevie Salas for the National Museum of the American Indian.
RUMBLE has a long list of music artists, historians, family members, and experts participating in the film, including: Buddy Guy, Steven Van Zandt, Tony Bennett, Taj Mahal, Cyril Neville, Ivan Neville, Martin Scorsese, John Trudell, David Fricke (Rolling Stone Magazine), Steven Tyler, Derek Trucks, Corey Harris, Guy Davis, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Monk Boudreaux, George Clinton, Jackson Browne, Martha Redbone, James “Hutch” Hutchinson, Joy Harjo, Iggy Pop, Wayne Kramer (MC5), Marky Ramone (The Ramones), Taylor Hawkins (Foo Fighters), Pura Fe Crescioni (Ulali), Dan Auerbach (The Black Keys), Phil Soussan (Ozzy Osbourne), Matt Sorum (Guns ‘N’ Roses), Mike Inez (Alice in Chains), Robert Trujillo (Metallica), Taboo (Black Eyed Peas), Slash (Guns ‘N’ Roses), Charlie Sexton (Bob Dylan), Rhiannon Giddens (Carolina Chocolate Drops), Pat Vegas (Redbone), Robbie Robertson, Buffy Sainte-Marie, and many others." (source: M

Executive Producer
Stevie Salas
Executive Producer  
Tim Johnson
Directed by
Catherine Bainbridge
Co-directed by
Alfonso Maiorana
Produced by
Catherine Bainbridge, Christina Fon,
Linda Ludwick, & Lisa M. Roth
Edited by
Jeremiah Hayes & Ben Duffield
Editing Consultant
Jon Kalina
Director of Photography
Alfonso Maiorana
Visual Researcher
Rebecca Lessard
Original Soundtrack Composed by
Ben Charest
Executive Producers
Catherine Bainbridge, Christina Fon,
Linda Ludwick, Jan Roefkamp, & Ernest Webb
Chris Turner, Curator, Smithsonian N.M.A.I
Brian Wright MacLeod, Author (Encyclopedia of Native American Music)
The Movie Network, ARTE, APTN, SCR/RDI, ARTV

bottom of page